Product Reviews

Sofit Soya Milk

20160426_122619

Many of us are being diagnosed with milk intolerance nowadays. Popularly it is known as lactose intolerance. Even I am a victim of milk intolerance, but didn’t knew all my life. Last year because of the skin allergies I was made to do these tests, and it was then I found that I was highly allergic to milk and mango. I love both. I had to have milk(chocolate milk) everyday. I just couldn’t let my day get over without having atleast 1 glass of milk. But it’s been now almost 6 months that I have stopped consuming all dairy products. The other alternative to animal milk is either Soya milk or Almond milk. I had tasted almond milk but did not like the taste. So I went with Soya milk.

Soya milk is easily available in the market and has a variety of flavours. I tried out 2 brands, Soyfresh and Sofit. I liked the taste of Sofit and it was cheaper too. 1 litre pack Of Soyfresh was around Rs.190 and Rs. 110 for Sofit. Theres so many flavours of Sofit. Vanilla, Kesar Pista, Mango, Chocolate and the regular normal flavour. I bought the chocolate flavour of Sofit but, the milk  was so heavy that I could not finish 1litre in 2 days also. So I switched to mini packs.

20160426_122404

The most important benefit of soya milk for me is that it can be consumed by lactose intolerant people. That’s it. But, another remarkable benefit which caught my attention is that its cholesterol free. Now this is not true in case of animal milk. Even skimmed milk contains some amount of cholesterol. But it was not so much important to me that I would leave my regular milk for soya milk. The other benefits like providing vitamins and minerals, etc are present in any other milk too. The amount of benefit derived from each type is definitely different from each other, but again for me it is not so high that I will switch from animal milk to soya milk. It is rich in Calcium, Protein, Vitamin C, Omega 3 and has fiber too! This milk helps you keep full for longer period and thus helps in weight loss. Soya milk also has fewer calories. The calories in it are almost equivalent to skimmed milk, so you can safely have it without worrying of adding unwanted calories to your diet. The harmful effect of consuming this milk is it creates a hormonal imbalance in women which could lead to some diseases. But, this holds true only if there is excess consumption. But, anything consumed in excess is bad, plus, you are not just drinking milk only , all day…right?

20160426_122433

The price for 1 litre of Sofit chocolate soya milk is Rs. 110 and Rs.25 for 200 ml. It comes in tetra packaging and has a shelf life of 270 days or 9 months. The 1 ltr pack has a srew cap and the 200ml has a straw to pierce and drink.

Desktop1

Theres ones thing you should keep in mind, if you choose to buy 1ltr pack , do not refrigerate it. It does say on the carton that it ‘tastes best when chilled’. I did and it develops thick and curdy, which was aweful to taste. Even if you do you should consume within 2 days from opening it. This is why i switched to 200 ml packs so I could consume it in one go and I am not a fan of having chilled drinks. Plus, it is also handy. I drop it in my handbag whenever I am in a rush and have it later on. Whenever I am hungry or thirsty and dont know what to have, I just open it and drink it up.

To sum up my views, I would definitely highly recommend it to people who have lactose intolerance. To others its your choice.  There are definite benefits of soya milk, but I would still prefer dairy milk just because I have grown up with it.

One thought on “Sofit Soya Milk

Leave a comment